Changes from 2013 in red bold


1. Racing will take place under the current International Racing Rules for Sailing (RRS) and these Sailing Instructions (SI).


2. Each competitor shall be a member of a competing Club.  Before starting a race, all competitors shall have paid the required entry fee, signed on for the event and shall possess third party insurance to a minimum value of 1,000,000.

 3. The safety of the competitor’s boat and her entire management including insurance shall be the responsibility of the owner or person in charge, who must ensure that the boat and crew are properly prepared to face the conditions that may arise in the course of the competition.  Neither this SI, nor an inspection of the boat under the SI, reduces the absolute responsibility of the owner or person in charge for the crew, the boat and her management.  The race organisers shall not be responsible for any loss, damage, personal injury or death, however caused, as a result of their taking part in the race or races.  Moreover, every owner or person in charge warrants the suitability of the boat for the races. In this context, race organisers includes the organising authority, the race committee and support boat crews


4. The races are intended for Club-standard sailors in boats that are sailed in Club Harbour racing. Races will be for a single handicap fleet for monohull classes.  Boats with trapezes and/or asymmetric spinnakers using a bowsprit with a PN of less than 1080 are not permitted to take part.

5. Competitors may sail with different boats or sails within the schedule of races and be included in their Club results. However, to count in the Individual results the same boat type must be used.  For example, a competitor using a Laser Radial for 2 races and a Laser Full Rig for 4 races would have the Radial results recorded separately, and would thus have to discard 2 DNE scores from their Full Rig results.  Boats that are sailed single handed in one race and crewed in another (such as the Mirror) will also be scored separately.

6. One-design boats may use replica sails.


7. All boats must carry a properly displayed sail number.  Competitors shall sign on at their own Clubs (there is no Series entry fee).  Completed entry forms are to be given to the OOD on the Committee Boat as soon as possible on the day.


8.  Competitors shall wear personal buoyancy when racing, which shall take the form of at least a waistcoat type buoyancy aid. 


9. Racing will take place over a series of 3 Sundays between Christchurch, Highcliffe and Mudeford Sailing Clubs, with primary organisation and prize provision being the responsibility of :

  • 2014 Mudeford SC
    2015 Christchurch SC
    2016 Highcliffe SC

10. All racing will take place within Christchurch Harbour using inflatable buoys in accordance with the course diagram below.  Races have been scheduled as follows:

  • Races 1 & 2: Sunday 29 June organised by Christchurch SC starting at 1100.
  • Races 3 & 4: Sunday 28 September organised by Mudeford SC starting at 1100.
  • Races 5 & 6: Sunday 12 October organised by Mudeford SC starting at 1100.
  • Prizegiving at Christchurch SC at 1930 hrs Friday 17 October.

11. Races will last 45 - 50 minutes and the second race will follow without a break.


12. Because of the limitations of the Harbour in certain wind directions, the previously standard square course is not always practical.  Although it will remain the default course, a triangular course may be substituted by the Race Officer on the day.  A board on the Committee Boat will display the course type and “hand” thus:

Square Port Hand - SP
Square Starboard Hand - SS
Triangle Port Hand - TP
Triangle Starboard Hand - TS

In the diagram below a single lap is shown of a Square Port Hand course, where all marks are to be passed to port and the finish is between the committee boat and mark 4.  The diagram is not to scale.

                                        O  1

        O  2



        O  2 (Triangular course)



        O  3

                                       4  O  (3, Triangular course)

                          Finish line between 4 and Committee Boat (about 4 boat-lengths recommended)

                                ODM  O-------------------Committee Boat      

The only difference for a Triangular course is that mark 2 becomes the wing mark, roughly equidistant between the start line and mark 3, which replaces mark 4.  In order to simplify race recording, the “triangle/sausage” option is not to be used.


13. Racing will be conducted in accordance with RRS using the 5 minute start sequence.  The class flag shall be the numeral 1 pennant.  No boat shall start later than 4 minutes after the start.  There will be a “Grand Prix” finish where the committee boat will give 2 sound signals and also fly Flag S for the leading boat or boats.  All boats will then finish and scoring will be done on an average lap time basis. At the discretion of the Race Officer, a time limit of 30 minutes after the first boat to finish may be imposed.  At this time boats that have not finished will be scored in the order and time they are placed on the water.


14.  These are friendly Inter Club events, which attract novice as well as expert sailors: it is hoped that competitors will bear this in mind when racing.  A competitor intending to protest shall make every effort to inform the committee boat after he finishes the race in question.  On going ashore, he must complete a protest form at his home Club and hand it to a Club Officer by the end of that day, who is to forward it to the Sailing Secretary of the organising Club.  Protests are to be heard as soon as possible.


15.  Individual results will be scored using the low points system, with 1 discard if all 6 races are completed. Club results (and thus the results of the Harbour Challenge Series) will be based on the addition of their competitors’ scores for each race.  The number of boats to score in each race will be the smallest number representing a Club in that race, with a minimum of 8 scores to count, and no discards.  Race officials and their assistants may claim average points, providing that they take part in all the other races in the Series. Average points will be the sum of all the other races divided by the number of races.

16. Out of Bounds areas. Some areas of the Harbour are marked with yellow buoys prohibiting access by water users, primarily around Blackberry Point but also some of the smaller inlets.  It follows that sailors are not to enter these areas at any time.

Mike Roach January 2014

[Home] [Join the Club] [Rejoin] [Racing 2014] [Social] [Buoy 6] [Open Regattas] [Harbour] [Laser Open] [Comet Open] [Training] [Mudeford Week] [Results] [For Sale & Wanted]